Beneficiary members

Any organisation wishing to benefit from the support of Philea must become a member by acquiring a social share. The price of a share is worth CHF 200.

For members receiving financial support from Philea, the amount of the shares must correspond to 5% of the outstanding amount of financial support.

A member’s shares are used to cover part of the risk on the financing granted by Philea.

The beneficiary members of Philea have the opportunity to take part in the strategic decisions of the cooperative through their right to vote at the General Assembly, on the principle of 1 member = 1 vote – regardless of the number of shares owned.

Become a member

Interest for
Become a member
Ask for financial support
Get informations

 

The PHILOS certification

Philea has developed a specific methodology for analysing the credit risk and the social impact of the organisations that benefit from its support.

This methodology was developed with the aim of fostering partnerships that meet the requirements of seriousness and measured risk taking and, at the same time, to ensure a high social and societal impact.

It is used by local correspondents to evaluate funding applications submitted by beneficiary members and is updated annually.

At the end of the examination of their request, the selected members are approved the PHILOS certification.

 

Credit risk

6 risks are analysed:

    • External risks
    • Strategic risks
    • Market risks
  • Risks related to activities
  • Operational risks
  • Financial risks

The measurement of these different criteria and their weighting makes it possible to assess the financial risk taken by Philea for each operation.

Measure of the social impact

5 impacts are evaluated:

  •  management of human resources and working conditions: decent wages, fixed ratio between the highest and the lowest salary, union representation, training, etc.
  • products responsibility: quality, compliance with standards, after-sales services, etc.
  • societal impact: local job creation, contribution to local public finances, integration of marginalised populations, etc.
  • environmental impact: reduction of negative externalities such as pollution, noise, support for reforestation, depollution, etc.
  • transparency: publication of accounts, compliance with standards, external evaluation, etc.

The measure of the social impact highlights the beneficiary member’s contribution to society and its development respectful of the principles of Social and Solidarity Economy.

The strengths and weaknesses drawn from these analyses make it possible to highlight the points that need to be improved or that require specific follow-up by the local correspondents.

The measurement of social impact therefore makes it possible to assess needs in terms of capacity building and technical support. So many needs that can then be supported by Philea in the context of its non-financial activities.

 

The NGO Appui au Développement Intégral des Collines (ADISCO) has been a member of Philea since 2012. This organisation’s mission is to support the emergence of a national social movement capable of carrying its own development and influencing policies for the benefit of the most vulnerable layers of the population. It mostly aims at promoting a better organisation of family farms. It works in close collaboration with farmers in the country and, in particular, small coffee cooperatives, whose emergence it supports.

At the time, small coffee producers organised within the National Confederation of Coffee Farmers Associations of Burundi (CNAC) faced the will of the World Bank and the Burundian government to privatise the coffee sector. Washing and pulping plants (the first stage of post-harvest processing of coffee) previously managed by state-owned companies were then sold through tender procedures.

De facto, the conditions imposed for the purchase of these factories precluded any possibility for small producers organised in cooperatives to acquire these factories and thus to control and manage autonomously a part of the transformation process that would guarantee them better selling prices.

ADISCO then joined forces with Philea to set up a guarantee mechanism allowing financing through a local bank, the acquisition and installation of coffee washing stations for the benefit of the cooperatives affiliated to ADISCO thus circumventing the multinationals that had bought state stations.

Since 2012, these loans have enabled 15 cooperatives to build their own coffee washing station and to weigh in negotiations with the government and the World Bank in the process of privatisation of the coffee sector. Thanks to these factories, the prices offered to members of these cooperatives have improved significantly.

In addition to supporting the coffee sector, ADISCO wants to promote the food sector (maize, cassava, on which small farmers live throughout the year, unlike coffee that produces income only at harvest time.

The funding granted by Philea also enabled the cooperatives to finance storage operations for food production in order to sell them at a better price during the lean season.

Despite the difficulties related to the vagaries of climate and a complex political situation marked by a latent though persistent civil war, the small cooperatives supported by ADISCO have been able to take off.

Thanks to the partnership between ADISCO and Philea, more than 5,300 households, about 33,400 people, have been able to improve their living conditions since 2012.

Today, through a project funded by the Geneva Federation of Cooperation (FGC) and managed by Philea, ADISCO continues to support these emerging cooperatives by financing technical support, aimed in particular at the labelling of processed products and their commercialisation in local markets.

In 2015, the work of ADISCO was awarded the “King Baudoin Prize for Development in Africa”.

Membres bénéficiaires

Toute organisation souhaitant bénéficier de l’appui de Philea doit devenir membre en faisant l’acquisition d’une part sociale dont le montant unitaire est de CHF 1’200.

Pour les membres bénéficiant de l’appui financier de Philea, le montant des parts sociales doit correspondre à 5% de l’encours de l’appui financier.

Ses parts sociales servent à couvrir une partie du risque sur les financements qu’octroie Philea.

Les membres bénéficiaires de Philea ont la possibilité de prendre part aux décisions stratégiques de la coopérative via leur droit de vote à l’Assemblée générale, sur le principe de1 membre = 1 voix – quel que soit le nombre de parts possédées.

Devenir membre

Intérêt pour
Devenir membre
Solliciter un appui ou un financement
Obtenir des informations

 

La certification PHILOS

Philea a développé une méthodologie propre d’analyse du risque de crédit et de l’impact social des organisations qui bénéficient de son appui.

Cette méthodologie a été développée avec le souci de favoriser des partenariats répondant à une exigence de sérieux et de prise de risque mesurée et, dans le même temps, d’assurer un impact social et sociétal élevé.

Elle est utilisée par les correspondants locaux pour évaluer les demandes de financement soumises par les membres bénéficiaires et sont mises à jour annuellement.
Au terme de l’examen de leur requête, les membres sélectionnés se voient agréer la certification PHILOS.

 

 

 

Le risque de crédit

 

6 risques sont analysés :

    • Les risques externes
    • Les risques stratégiques
    • Les risques de marché
  • Les risques liés aux activités
  • Les risques opérationnels
  • Les risques financiers

La mesure de ces différents critères et leur pondération permet d’évaluer le risque financier pris par Philea pour chaque opération.

 

 

 

La mesure de l’impact social

5 impacts sont évalués :

  • la gestion des ressources humaines et les conditions de travail: salaire décent, rapport entre salaire le plus élevé, le plus faible, représentation syndicale, formation, etc.
  • la responsabilité sur les produits: qualité, respect des normes, services après-vente, etc.
  • l’impact sur la société: création d’emplois locaux, contribution aux finances publics locales, intégration des populations marginalisées, etc.
  • l’impact environnemental: réduction des externalités négatives tels que pollution, bruit, appui au reboisement, à la dépollution, etc.
  • la transparence: publication des comptes, respect des normes, évaluation externe, etc.

 

 

La mesure de l’impact social met en évidence l’apport du membre bénéficiaire sur la société et son développement respectueux des principes de l’Economie Sociale et Solidaire.

Les forces et faiblesses issues de ces analyses permettent de mettre en évidence les points qui doivent être améliorés ou qui demandent un suivi particulier de la part des correspondants locaux.

La mesure de l’impact social permet donc d’évaluer les besoins en renforcement des capacités et en appui technique. Autant de besoins qui peuvent ensuite être pris en charge par Philea dans le cadre de ses activités non financières.

L’ONG d’Appui au Développement Intégral des Collines (ADISCO) est membre de Philea depuis 2012. Cette organisation s’est donnée pour mission d’accompagner l’émergence d’un mouvement social national capable de porter son propre développement et d’influencer les politiques au profit des couches modestes de la population. Elle vise notamment à favoriser une meilleure organisation des exploitations agricoles familiales. Elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec les paysans du pays et, en particulier, les petites coopératives de producteurs de café dont elle appuie l’émergence.

A l’époque, les petits producteurs de café organisés au sein de la Confédération Nationale des Associations des Caféiculteurs du Burundi (CNAC) font face à la volonté de la Banque Mondiale et du gouvernement burundais de privatiser la filière du Café. Les usines de lavage et de dépulpage (premier stade de la transformation du café après sa récolte) gérées, par le passé, par des sociétés d’État, sont alors vendues par appels d’offres.

De facto, les conditions imposées pour l’achat de ces usines écartent toute possibilité, pour les petits producteurs organisés en coopératives, de se rendre acquéreurs de ces usines et donc de contrôler et de gérer de manière autonome une partie du processus de transformation qui leur permettrait de garantir de meilleurs prix de vente.

ADISCO s’associe alors à Philea pour mettre en place un mécanisme de garantie permettant le financement par l’intermédiaire d’une banque locale, l’acquisition et l’installation de stations de lavage du café au profit des coopératives affiliées à ADISCO –court-circuitant ainsi les multinationales qui s’étaient portées acquéreuses des stations étatiques.

Depuis 2012, ces financements ont permis à 15 coopératives de construire leur propre station de lavage du café et de peser ainsi dans les négociations avec le gouvernement et la Banque Mondiale dans le processus de privatisation de la filière du café. Grâce à ces usines, les prix offerts aux membres de ces coopératives se sont sensiblement améliorés.

Outre l’appui à la filière café, ADISCO souhaite promouvoir les filières vivrières (maïs, manioc, dont vivent les petits paysans tout au long de l’année, contrairement au café qui produit des revenus uniquement au moment des récoltes.

Les financements octroyés par Philea ont également permis aux coopératives de financer des opérations de stockage des productions vivrières afin de les vendre à meilleur prix lors des périodes de soudure.

Malgré les difficultés liées aux aléas climatiques et à une situation politique complexe marquée par une guerre civile larvée et pourtant persistante, les petites coopératives appuyées par ADISCO ont pu prendre leur envol.

Grâce au partenariat entre ADISCO et Philea, plus de 5’300 ménages, soit environ 33’400, personnes ont pu améliorer leurs conditions de vie, depuis 2012.

Aujourd’hui, par l’intermédiaire d’un projet subventionné par la Fédération Genevoise de Coopération (FGC) et géré par Philea, ADISCO continue d’appuyer ces coopératives émergentes en finançant un appui technique destiné, en particulier, à la labélisation des produits transformés et à leur commercialisation sur les marchés locaux.

En 2015, le travail d’ADISCO est récompensé par l’obtention du «Prix Roi Baudoin pour le développement en Afrique».